Practice, Practice, Practice

Decorating By kewaters Updated 11 Nov 2008 , 3:35pm by kewaters

kewaters Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kewaters Posted 11 Nov 2008 , 1:08am
post #1 of 9

I know that if I want my decorating skills to get better I need to practice, practice, practice. My problem is that I am limited to how often I can bake cakes and practice decorating them. For example, I do not really have family around me, so I can't share/make the cakes for them. Also, I work from home so I don't have co-workers to share them with either.

What are some suggestions for how I can get some practice in? I am really self taught, and have not been able to take the Wilton classes as the schedules always conflict with mine. As soon as I am able I will take the courses, but until then what can I do?

I have been thinking about getting some styrofoam to use as a dummy and practice that way, but I don't know if that's a good idea. Any input, suggestions, guidance would be appreciated!

8 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 11 Nov 2008 , 1:54am
post #2 of 9

styrofoams are a good idea. If you just want to practice some simple techniques, you can turn your pans over and practice piping, stringwork, flowers, etc., on the pans. A flat cardboard is good to practice writing, scrolls, drop flowers, etc.

kandu001 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kandu001 Posted 11 Nov 2008 , 2:11am
post #3 of 9

Styrofoam "dummies" will be a great idea for you. You can practice on them without having to go through the whole baking process and having no one to eat it with you. When you're done decorating, take a picture, and clean off to start the next one! Sounds like a great idea! Have fun and good luck!

ski Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ski Posted 11 Nov 2008 , 3:19am
post #4 of 9