What Do You Do With Your Profits?

Business By jammjenks Updated 1 Dec 2008 , 6:30am by Denise

jammjenks Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jammjenks Posted 6 Nov 2008 , 8:32pm
post #1 of 27

I am particularly interested in home-based operations since that's what I am. I have been doing cakes for about 2 years, in addition to my full time job, and have only recently started having a little $ to show for it. I started out by using any money I make to purchase more cake supplies, but now I'm not having to buy as much as in the beginning. I have a business checking account and have my cake money in there. I also handle the finances for our household, so I keep all cake money separate from our regular household/bill money. I have big dreams of using it for a shop or something one day, but I was curious to see what the rest of you do with your profits. Do you save them up like me to try to do something with later? Do you put it in with your other money?

26 replies
MicheleH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MicheleH Posted 6 Nov 2008 , 9:43pm
post #2 of 27

I too, only bake from home and I don't have any intention on doing anything else. I keep seperate books for home & biz. I started out using the $$ for supplies, but now I use for fun things like family vacations, fun extra purchases. But, I've also used it for things like paying the LP bill in the winter!!

UltimateCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
UltimateCakes Posted 6 Nov 2008 , 9:46pm
post #3 of 27

Still buying supplies. Soon will save for a 2nd Honeymoon!

Mencked Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mencked Posted 6 Nov 2008 , 9:57pm
post #4 of 27