'the Recipe Didn't Work!'

Decorating By SeriousCakes Updated 9 Nov 2008 , 3:19am by Melvira

bizatchgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bizatchgirl Posted 4 Nov 2008 , 3:46am
post #31 of 38

Probably, jouj. He was a real meat and potatoes kind of guy. And it showed! Probably the few things I cooked for him were the only healthy things he ever ate!

I love it that the men (or significant others) think it's so easy. I had my somewhat inebriated boyfriend standing over me trying to direct things one night. He's lucky he's still living. If it hadn't been my nephew's 1st birthday cake, I would have turned it over to him and told him to show me that he could do better icon_biggrin.gif

Melvira Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Melvira Posted 4 Nov 2008 , 3:58am
post #32 of 38

bizatchgirl you are cracking me up! One day I was cooking something for dinner, I don't recall what (and trust me, I am an accomplished cook) and my husband came up and watched for a few seconds, then said something assinine like, "Are you going to do it like that? Shouldn't you..." This is the man that can barely make toast, and burns water when he tries to boil it! icon_surprised.gif I turned around and with a huge smile and said, "Really? You want to go there? A few *%#% episodes of "Good Eats" does not qualify you are a chef you know!?" Lo and behold, it turned out tasting good enough to eat. icon_rolleyes.gif Cracks me up when they think they know something!

bizatchgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bizatchgirl Posted 5 Nov 2008 , 3:45pm
post #33 of 38

My boyfriend watches Good Eats too! Let's blame it ALL on Alton Brown. My boyfriend is a very good cook, but he can't cook anything from scratch, he can only cook from recipes. And I don't think he's ever baked a thing. So, why he thinks cooking from recipes would make him able to decorate a cake, is really beyond me!

Melvira Posted 5 Nov 2008 , 4:48pm
post #34 of 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by bizatchgirl