Betty Crocker Vs Duncan Hines

Decorating By JaLa90016 Updated 5 Nov 2008 , 3:35am by calicakequeen

JaLa90016 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JaLa90016 Posted 1 Nov 2008 , 5:27pm
post #1 of 28

I am trying to find a cost effective way to bake cakes. I want to be able to doctor them up and I have never used cake mix before.

Which is better betty crocker or duncan hinges?

27 replies
Cakeasyoulikeit Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakeasyoulikeit Posted 1 Nov 2008 , 5:51pm
post #2 of 28

I think you'll find people that feel that both are better! Just depends who you ask. icon_smile.gif I used to use only DH (grew up with it), but now use almost exclusively BC. I just think BC yields a moister, tastier cake. I doctor most of the time, but prefer BC even when it's just straight from the box.

RebeccaC Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
RebeccaC Posted 1 Nov 2008 , 7:52pm
post #3 of 28

I'm totally with you on doctoring up a cake mix. Since becoming a mom it's the only way I can keep my sanity and still bake. But, going back to your question, I always use Betty Crocker and have never had a complaint. Although, call me a hypocrite, I use a Duncan Hines cook book called, "Complete Cake Mix Magic." And magic it is. Every one I've made has been wonderful.

CakeMommyTX Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeMommyTX Posted 1 Nov 2008 , 8:08pm
post #4 of 28

I use both, I prefer DH white cake, but I love BC triple chocolate fudge cake.

So for me it just depends on the cake I am making.

But I was raised on BC Devil's Food cake, straight from the box with the Fluffy White Icing (the kind in a box you have to make ) and to this very day that is my favorite cake!

scrabblemomof1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scrabblemomof1 Posted 1 Nov 2008 , 8:42pm
post #5 of 28