Gumpaste Help

Decorating By Jocmom Updated 7 Oct 2008 , 12:36am by BJ

Jocmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jocmom Posted 6 Oct 2008 , 11:09am
post #1 of 7

Help! icon_cry.gif

I'm making a beer bottle cake for this weekend. My friend asked that the cake itself resemble a blue sand pail/bucket. That means a thin handle. I've found that fondant doesn't hold up well when it's that thin and doesn't have more time to dry.

I asked someone how to make fondant dry harder and faster and they said to add gumpaste. They didn't elaborate, and I haven't been able to reach them to get specifics. I've never used gumpaste before. Do I just add gumpaste to fondant to make it dry faster?

Thanks in advance for any help you can give me.

6 replies
debster Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
debster Posted 6 Oct 2008 , 11:34am
post #2 of 7

Yes 50/50 gumpaste and fondant mixed. Works GREAT. Good luck!!!!!
I wanted to add that some people I think use all gumpaste, Nick Lodge's recipe for gumpaste works good. I think it's in the recipe section.

Molly2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Molly2 Posted 6 Oct 2008 , 11:41am
post #3 of 7

I use 50/50 Fondant and Gum Paste you could use a little more gum paste and if I want it to dry fast I use a Food Dehydrator or just put it in my oven over night with the light on I don't turn the oven on just the light I make cowboy hats for some of my cakes and the brim must be hard and thats what I do.

Molly

icon_smile.gif

sweettoothmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweettoothmom Posted 6 Oct 2008 , 9:53pm
post #4 of 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Molly2

I use 50/50 Fondant and Gum Paste you could use a little more gum paste and if I want it to dry fast I use a Food Dehydrator or just put it in my oven over night with the light on I don't turn the oven on just the light I make cowboy hats for some of my cakes and the brim must be hard and thats what I do.

Molly

icon_smile.gif