Need Idea For Grandmother's Bday Cake

Decorating By mamafrogcakes Updated 17 Aug 2005 , 9:39pm by mommymarilyn

mamafrogcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamafrogcakes Posted 15 Aug 2005 , 2:04am
post #1 of 16

I am a newbie decorator and haven't taken any class (or taught myself) how to make flowers of any sort. My grandmothers 86th birthday is coming up and I would like to do something really pretty for her. I don't think she would like fondant so it would have to be BC. I would like to do a basketweave with flowers, but I know that won't turn out great. Does anyone have any ideas??? I thought about a FBCT but I just can't find the right picture. She really loves flowers. I would appreciate any help! Thanks! icon_smile.gif

15 replies
gdixoncakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gdixoncakes Posted 15 Aug 2005 , 2:12am
post #2 of 16

Mamafrogcakes,

I see your in the Dallas area. Otherwise, if you were close, I was going to say I could help you out with roses. From the looks of your beautiful cakes, it wouldn't take but a minute for you to pick it up. I think you could definitely handle a basketweave. As far as flower pictures, try:

http://coloringbookfun.com/flower/

KayDay Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KayDay Posted 15 Aug 2005 , 2:22am
post #3 of 16

Or pick up a little bouquet of live flowers and make a basket weave cake and arrange the flowers on top?

sls0812 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sls0812 Posted 15 Aug 2005 , 2:27am
post #4 of 16

I like gdixon's page with flowers. Any of those would like good as a BCT. Here is a cake I did for one of my first cakes and I used drop flowers. Not hard at all. Maybe you could do something like this with the basketweave.
LL

bigboots Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bigboots Posted 15 Aug 2005 , 2:37am
post #5 of 16

I did a fbct of a rose for my mom
it's in my pictures.It was the first time
i did a fbct.

gdixoncakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gdixoncakes Posted 15 Aug 2005 , 2:45am