Home Business..oh The Mess In The Kitchen..everywhere...!!!

Decorating By sweetcravings Updated 28 Sep 2008 , 3:03pm by mamacc

sweetcravings Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetcravings Posted 27 Sep 2008 , 8:12pm
post #1 of 18

icon_sad.gif Ok so i have been decorating cakes for many years now on and off for family mostly. I make the monthly birthday cake etc...No stress, just learning and having a pretty good time...THEN..I decided recently to perhaps start selling my cakes to outsiders. I got an order from a friend for 80cream horns, and two identical bday cakes one for this weekend and the other for next. So off to working i went, making fondant bows, numbers, baking cakes, icing over the last week. I'm exhausted!!! I finished filling the 80cream horns by 7:30am and started on the cake, just finished around 2:30pm. The kitchen looks like a disaster zone, my dining room table has been taken over with fondant pieces, piping bags etc...Everything looks soooo messy!!!! Not dirty, just messy! I don't have a home with a basement so my work must be done in my living area.
I'm finding it hard to live in this!! When i wake up the first thing i think of cakes because its in my 'face', then when my 'work' day is done..i get to look at it everywhere again thus keeping my mind at 'work".
I'm starting to rethink if this is a wise decision or if i should just go apply to a bakery or something.
I also spent all this time trying to figuring out costs etc... and still the cake i just completed I think i undercharged (i guess live and learn).
I don't know how others do this and truely make it worth they're time, and how they do multiple cakes at once and still be standing at the end of the day.
I never really experienced this type of feeling when i was doing cakes for family but now since it's a paid cake i'm all worried all the time! Will it look good?Will they like it? What if, what if, what if???? I'm starting to drive my DH crazy.