Chocolate Cake Combinations Needed Please

Decorating By colabear71 Updated 25 Sep 2008 , 6:05am by colabear71

colabear71 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
colabear71 Posted 16 Sep 2008 , 6:03am
post #1 of 13

I have my first commissioned cake this weekend. icon_biggrin.gif It is a baby shower and the mom to be wants chocolate cake. She requested one layer to have buttercream filling and said to surprise her one the second layer. I am still very new to caking and am looking for some suggestions as to your favorite or most requested fillings for a chocolate cake. I was planning on doing a butter recipe chocolate cake, but am not against trying something different before this weekend.

Also, if anyone has any suggestions as to decorations...I would appreciate them. The theme is western/farm animals. It will be a two tier cake. I've got a few ideas from cakes that I've seen here on CC, but I'm open to other ideas too.

Thanks,

Kim icon_smile.gif

12 replies
caincakemaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
caincakemaker Posted 16 Sep 2008 , 6:07am
post #2 of 13

You could do a chocolate ganache filling. I like to do that with a thin layer of raspberry jam. Tastes like a Ghirardelli candy bar.

I saw a farm animal cake on the pinkcakebox.com website today that is so cute. You could use it for an idea, perhaps.

Good luck!

DsLady614 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DsLady614 Posted 16 Sep 2008 , 6:08am
post #3 of 13

How about a fruit type mousse? I found a nice recipe for a Raspberry Mousse in the recipe section here. I haven't tried it yet, but it got really good reviews. It is essentially cream cheese, coolwhip and a seedless jam. That would be good with chocolate I think. Personally I'd do both layers with it.

Jopalis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jopalis Posted 16 Sep 2008 , 6:36am
post #4 of 13

Nutella mousse? If she likes hazelnut.

ceshell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ceshell Posted 16 Sep 2008 , 7:31am
post #5 of 13