Help!!!! I Need Sheet Cake Help From A-Z

Decorating By asimone Updated 10 Sep 2008 , 4:58am by CakeRN

asimone Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
asimone Posted 9 Sep 2008 , 8:47pm
post #1 of 7

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting on this site. I have to make three sheet cakes over the next 2 weeks, and need some assistance. I've never made a sheet cake so I need help with how to make sure the cake turns out moist, how much batter( i've read on one site I need about 7 cups), and the best recipe to use.

One cake is a child's birthday, and the other two are adult birthdays. One of the birthday cakes will be made in a 13x9x3 inch pan. I don't even have the particular flavors I want to use.

Please help!!!!!!!

6 replies
millermom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
millermom Posted 9 Sep 2008 , 8:57pm
post #2 of 7

My sheet cake pan (12"x18") holds exactly 3 cake mixes. For a 9x13, I make 2 cake mixes, and then fill the pan about 2/3 full. (sorry, I jsut eyeball it) I turn the oven down about 25 degrees from what the instructions say, and bake it a little longer, until the cake tester comes out clean.

I have never had a problem with a sheet cake not being moist.

Good luck! icon_smile.gif

millermom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
millermom Posted 9 Sep 2008 , 8:59pm
post #3 of 7

Oh, and I always use the Wilton baking strips. The ones you soak in water and wrap around the pan.

Tatusky Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tatusky Posted 9 Sep 2008 , 9:01pm
post #4 of 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by asimone

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting on this site. I have to make three sheet cakes over the next 2 weeks, and need some assistance. I've never made a sheet cake so I need help with how to make sure the cake turns out moist, how much batter( i've read on one site I need about 7 cups), and the best recipe to use.