Why Did My Fondant Fade?

Decorating By shannonlovebug Updated 17 Aug 2008 , 2:59am by Rose_N_Crantz

shannonlovebug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shannonlovebug Posted 16 Aug 2008 , 4:19pm
post #1 of 7

My pink fondant bow, roses, and cake base have faded to almost white and my lavender roses have faded to pale blue. Why did this happen? I'm new at this and I thought I read somewhere that fondant would get darker as it dried. Other than the fading they turned out great. What do I do in the future to prevent this from happening again and is there a way I can bring back the color for this one?
Thanks!!

6 replies
rvercher23 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rvercher23 Posted 16 Aug 2008 , 4:30pm
post #2 of 7

To fix the color, you might try mixing color with clear vanilla, or lemon extract, or vodka and paint the color back on there. I heard that if you add glycerin to your colors when you mix it makes them more vibrant.

Lorendabug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lorendabug Posted 16 Aug 2008 , 4:32pm
post #3 of 7

Fondant will fade when exposed to light. Colored buttercream will darken a bit when it has sat a bit.

As far as bringing the color back you could airbrush it or brush it with some petal dust or luster dust to get some color onto it again.

I hope it works out for you!

CakeMakar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeMakar Posted 16 Aug 2008 , 4:37pm
post #4 of 7

I had a cake due before and forgot this. I made the little guy a bright red bowtie and rose for his tux. When I got there, it was a nice shade of pink. To make it funnier, the guest of honor and almost the entire guest list were gay. They thought I did it on purpose! They also still ask for a cake every year!

beachcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
beachcakes Posted 17 Aug 2008 , 1:54am
post #5 of 7