Plaid Sides Using Frozen Buttercream Transfer?

Decorating By pkgurl Updated 8 Aug 2008 , 6:00pm by Justbeck101

pkgurl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pkgurl Posted 7 Aug 2008 , 1:21am
post #1 of 12

I want to do plaid on the sides of a round cake, on the bottom tier. I don't trust myself to pipe it with buttercream upside down, or to do it with fondant strips. I've been racking my brain for weeks trying to figure out how to do it to make it look right. Would a frozen buttercream transfer work? If I made it too tall for the sides, I could trim it, right?

I've never tried one before, so this would be a first for me. Any tips would be appreciated. Thanks.

11 replies
tracey1970 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tracey1970 Posted 7 Aug 2008 , 1:47am
post #2 of 12

You'd have to find a way to freeze it following the curve of the pan. You can't bend it once frozen, and once thawed, if you mess with it, you'll ruin it. Not sure how to go about this one??

all4cake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
all4cake Posted 7 Aug 2008 , 3:25am
post #3 of 12

What I did when I made a fbct for the entire side of a cake was ...

I used a strip of waxed paper cut to the height and length of circumference =1"(to help with gripping) of the tier. crumb coat the tier....chill it just until firm...it doesn't have to be frozen. Create design on the waxed paper(if you have a clear board to work on(so you can see periodically the correct side) is nice but not necessary). Take each end of strip and align it with the tier...it is tricky and works best with two people...if you have to work alone on it, grab the piece at each end but toward the top.

After getting the piece onto the side, leaving the waxed paper on, with fondant smoothers, carefully smooth the piece while applying light pressure. Place entire tier with waxed paper still attached into freezer. Let it remain in there until frozen. Remove tier. Remove waxed paper. Clean up any lines with a toothpick