Glad It Wasn't Mine!

Decorating By evie114 Updated 17 Jul 2008 , 4:53pm by evie114

evie114 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
evie114 Posted 16 Jul 2008 , 4:56am
post #1 of 13

I'm new to this site and the warning in the upper left hand corner about the site being addictive is so true! I can't get enough. I'm a newbie, been decorating cakes for family and friends for a few years and it seems like my 'hobby' is taking over my life, but I love it. Anyway, I went to a wedding this weekend and, of course, I had to check out the cake as soon as I got there (I did not make the cake). I saw a little card next to the cake showing that the cake came from "THE" place to get wedding cakes in our area. I was anxious to taste it. It looked beautiful, three tiers, one square, one heart and one round. The cakes were iced in white with BRIGHT RED cornelli lace. My first thought was, wow...that's gonna taste like you know what. The worst part, however, turned out to be when the bride and groom cut the cake and the groom proceeded to really smash a piece, cornelli lace first, into the brides face. Her face was bright red from the dye. They laughed, posed for pictures, etc. and in the meantime this red dye is still on her face. By the time she got around to wiping her face with napkins, it was too late, her face was stained pink from the dye! She eventually went to the restroom and washed her face (and all her make up) with soap and water but when she came out, her face was still stained pink. They served the cake and sure enough, it tasted awful! All you could taste was that bitter red dye. So glad it wasn't mine; to think that she actually paid some big bucks for that cake is really sad.

12 replies
lardbutt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lardbutt Posted 16 Jul 2008 , 5:03am
post #2 of 13

How terrible! I personally hate the shoving of cake in each other's face tradition! I mean really, I could've eaten that! icon_lol.gificon_lol.gificon_lol.gif