Anyone Have A Not Too Sweet Icing Suggestion?

Baking By LisaI Updated 13 Jul 2008 , 11:39pm by LisaI

LisaI Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LisaI Posted 10 Jul 2008 , 1:02pm
post #1 of 12

I'm a complete newbie to decorating, and am taking the Wilton I course. Basically am doing it so I can make the family cakes for occasions (birthday, anniversary etc.)
For class I have to use the Class Buttercream recipe, but my family doesn't like such a sweet icing, so for the future I am hoping to find an icing that will decorate as well, but not be so sweet! I prefer something that doesn't have perishables in it (ie butter, milk) but if all of the options have those, I won't hesitate to use it!
In case it is helpful, I live in upstate NY, so summers can be hot and humid, and winter can be hot and dry (inside, with a wood stove). I understand that temps and humidity can have an effect.

Any suggestions from those experienced here would be great!

11 replies
awolf24 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
awolf24 Posted 10 Jul 2008 , 1:21pm
post #2 of 12

Have you ever made or used one of the European buttercreams? Italian meringue buttercream (IMBC), Swiss meringue buttercream (SMBC) or French meringue buttercream (FMBC)? AWESOME stuff!

Here's a link to the IMBC recipe I use:

http://www.cakecentral.com/cake_recipe-2426-0-Italian-Meringue-Buttercream--Shirleys-Method.html

danijus Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
danijus Posted 10 Jul 2008 , 1:32pm
post #3 of 12

I didn't have much luck with IMBC. It turned soupy on me. SMBC is easier to make. You can also try indydebis recipe. Heres the link

http://www.cakecentral.com/cake_recipe-6992-0-Indydebis-Crisco-Based-Buttercream-Icing.html

LisaI Posted 10 Jul 2008 , 1:37pm
post #4 of 12

Thanks for the links, I will check them out!

With the different BC's what is the difference between them? Is it in the decorating uses, properties or just flavor? As I said I am a complete newbie icon_smile.gif