Another...did I Charge Too Much For This One?? Long ...

Business By sweetsbyJ Updated 11 Jul 2008 , 5:27pm by loriana

sweetsbyJ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetsbyJ Posted 3 Jul 2008 , 5:00pm
post #1 of 32

I had a lady call me a couple of weeks ago asking for a Baby Einstein cake. I told her to email me with the info and I would give her a price through email (i do it that way so that both parties have it in writing) Well we emailed back and forth and she sent me this picture. (attached)

She wanted it just like this for 40 people 2 tiers in fondant.

Im not that great giving prices since Im just starting out and I usually end up undercharging people icon_redface.gif ..anyways..I charged her as follows:
$2.75 per person plus a separate charge for each animal: Cat, Dog, Lizard @ $12 each. Duck @ $7 and the catepillar @ $5
The total was $158.00 ($110-cake $48-animals) icon_confused.gif

I think I was giving her a good deal..the cake giants here wouldnt charge less than $3 something per person and they would have proably charged like $100 something or more for the animals..

This was about 2 weeks ago and she never responded..I even wrote her back telling her that I was already getting orders for her date and that if she thought the price was too high I could do the cake at $1.35 per person out of buttercream and I could do the animals in 2d for cheaper....still no answer... icon_sad.gif

Now..honest opinions..do you think I charged her too much?? to little?? what would you gals/guys have charged?

TIA! icon_confused.gif
LL

31 replies
kelleym Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kelleym Posted 3 Jul 2008 , 6:07pm
post #2 of 32

Your price was more than fair. My local cake shop won't even DO 3-D molded figures for any price. Your "customer" probably was thinking she could get the cake for $40-$50, and suffered extreme sticker shock - NOT YOUR FAULT!!! If ya want the Cadillac of cakes (which that cake certainly is), then you have to pay the Cadillac price.