Atten: Cake Experts Only!

Baking By dcabrera Updated 28 Jun 2008 , 11:27pm by sadiepix

dcabrera Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dcabrera Posted 24 Jun 2008 , 6:27pm
post #1 of 50

I'm very new at cake decorating and I'm crazy in love with this art. I've been going nuts trying to do everything from scratch. Also finding the perfect buttercream/cake mix recipes. In all honesty, how many of you actually make you cake mix from scratch? icon_smile.gif

49 replies
jessieb578 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jessieb578 Posted 24 Jun 2008 , 6:32pm
post #2 of 50

Some from scratch, some from mixes - my most loved cake is the WASC cake from this site, it's a doctored cake mix. My favorite scratch cake is a chocolate cake that I use...so I guess it all depends. I just use whatever makes the best tasting cake regardles of if it's from scratch or a mix.

Hey Paula Deen uses mixes sometimes for all kinds of things ....and so do many other famous chefs, so why not us??

jewelykaye Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jewelykaye Posted 24 Jun 2008 , 6:33pm
post #3 of 50

I don't. I do doctored cake mixes. The bakery that I used to work at just used start Duncan Hines mixes. The bakery I currently rent from just uses straight mixes as well.

apetricek Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
apetricek Posted 24 Jun 2008 , 6:37pm
post #4 of 50