Stupid Rookie Mistake

Business By NickiKR Updated 19 Jun 2008 , 7:11pm by Solecito

NickiKR Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NickiKR Posted 17 Jun 2008 , 3:30am
post #1 of 33

So I am very new to this business and I have only accepted a few orders. I had a call tonight and the lady said that a friend of mine had shown her my cake photos and she fell in love with my pink and yellow ladybug cake. She wondered how much it was. I asked how many servings. She said that she wants the exact same cake. I *assumed* it was a birthday cake because of the design, so I gave her a quote. She accepted and I was thrilled because it was $30 more than I charged last time (which was way too little).

I got off the phone and start doing a little dance because it was my first kinda random stranger order. I was thrilled that I increased the price and she accepted without hesitation.

Then my friend who recommended me called. This cake is for a wedding! Not a child's birthday party. I charged what I did based on what the birthday cake market would bear. Not the wedding cake market. Crap.

I am a big idiot. She is probably calling all of her friends to tell them what an amazing cake deal she is getting for her wedding.

Bah! I need to tone down my excitement at getting an order and make sure that I am not giving my cakes away.

Doh! Live and learn. At least it is a wedding! Yay! My first one. Woohoo!

32 replies
melodyscakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
melodyscakes Posted 17 Jun 2008 , 3:44am
post #2 of 33

right. at least its a paying order.
mention to her its a one time deal on the price and ask her not to tell her friends what she paid.

KHalstead Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KHalstead Posted 17 Jun 2008 , 3:56am
post #3 of 33