To Torte Or Not To Torte...

Business By jewelykaye Updated 11 Jun 2008 , 12:55pm by missmeg

SweetResults Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SweetResults Posted 11 Jun 2008 , 5:56am
post #31 of 38

"What the heck of that thing made of, is it a laser beam?!"

It must be platinum with a diamond tipped blade! LOL!

I still want one though...

zubia Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
zubia Posted 11 Jun 2008 , 6:20am
post #32 of 38

Me too. Can some one tell me which one should I get.the normal one layer one or the delux that cuts 2 layers????

itsacake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
itsacake Posted 11 Jun 2008 , 6:43am
post #33 of 38

I have the regular Agbay leveler. It is no trouble to level the top and then torte the layers. Only takes a few extra seconds. Unless you need those extra seconds, I think the regular leveler will do.

I love my Agbay! It is worth every penny. In fact, as a kosher baker, I have up to now only baked pareve (non-dairy) cakes and I just have one Agbay. When I have a bakery (very soon, I hope) I plan to also bake dairy cakes and dairy and non-dairy utensils will have to be kept separate. I absolutely plan to have a second Agbay. I don't ever want to have to torte or level a cake without one! thumbs_up.gif

shisharka Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shisharka Posted 11 Jun 2008 , 6:49am
post #34 of 38

Iâm one of the âOtherâ responses in the poll. Hereâs the long-winded explanation icon_smile.gif

Iâve posted about my âtortingâ confusion before, and thanks to CC I got to understand the major difference between the European cakes (or I should say âtortesâ or âspecialty desertsâ, even though the word clearly translates to âcakeâ) I grew up with and what is called a âcakeâ here in the U.S.