How Can I Turn Wiltons Buttercream Mix Chocolate?

Decorating By MeMo07 Updated 29 May 2008 , 7:16pm by awolf24

MeMo07 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MeMo07 Posted 29 May 2008 , 2:51pm
post #1 of 9

I have a cake I am making for an Apple store opening, and they want the frosting black- I'm pretty new to this, so I'm still using the Wilton mixes for the buttercream, as I'm too nervous to try a new recipe (There seems to be so many!)

I've read that I need to use chocolate frosting to get black- can I simply add some coco powder to get it chocolate, or will I need to add something different?

Or would it be better to just go to the store and get some canned chocolate? LOL.

Any help would be great. Thanks!

8 replies
awolf24 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
awolf24 Posted 29 May 2008 , 2:56pm
post #2 of 9

NO - don't try to pipe or decorate using canned chocolate icing!!!

First of all, in my experience, you can get black starting from white icing. I use Americolor super black gel color and it works great. You can get a true black, not gray, and you don't have to use a lot of color (like you would with Wilton color - and you still might end up with gray).

But if you would like to start with chocolate, I would use Hershey's chocolate syrup. Adding it gets it a nice dark chocolate brown. I've added cocoa powder and I get a light brown at best - it doesn't really help to darken the white icing that much.

MeMo07 Posted 29 May 2008 , 3:12pm
post #3 of 9

Awolf- I'm not really going to be decorating with this, just frosting the whole cake with it- then I'm going to do a FBCT with the Apple Logo in just the plain buttecream.

I don't have time to get any Americolor in time for this cake, but I will defiantly order some! This is the second time I've tried to make black, lol.