Where Do I Start?

Decorating By marie92001 Updated 2 Jun 2008 , 4:34pm by AmyGonzalez

marie92001 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
marie92001 Posted 29 May 2008 , 2:21am
post #1 of 35

Hello everyone!
I am new to cake central and would LOVE to learn how to create and make wonderful cakes like ones posted here! A little about me... I wanted to go to school to become a pastry chef but with 3 boys and one little one still at home i could not attend school during the day and had to settle for becoming a phlebotimist. (could do night school) Anyway, i would LOVe to get started making & designing cakes like i have seen here.
I have been purchasing some wilton books & supplies and would like to try and make a cake (nothing fancy yet) for a friends son who will be going to irac in july for the marines! Any suggestions? I was reading about a dummy cake. I would like to make a simply (round) cake with the marie symbol and a dummy cake with the flag drapped over it.
Thank you kindly for any help!
Donna

34 replies
Sugar_Plum_Fairy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sugar_Plum_Fairy Posted 29 May 2008 , 2:32am
post #2 of 35

Hi, Donna.

Welcome to CC! Well, you've definitely come to the right site if you want to learn about anything cake. There are so many here, from beginners to amazing experts, that instruct, advise and simply share what they know and what they've learned and make it easier for the rest of us. It's such a great community.

One of the great things about this site is the gallery. You can see photos posted by other members and even do searches so that you can look up certain key words/topics and you'll have oodles of pictures to look at for ideas. I can tell you already there are many cakes with the Marines logo upon them.