Crumb Coat

Decorating By chassidyg Updated 18 May 2008 , 12:14am by bigmama1961

chassidyg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chassidyg Posted 17 May 2008 , 6:25pm
post #1 of 10

When I do a crumb coat on a cake, do I let it completely dry before I do the decor layer? I have never done a crumb coat before, so not sure exactly the steps. Thanks everyone!

9 replies
shell62995 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shell62995 Posted 17 May 2008 , 6:30pm
post #2 of 10

oh,i like to know the answer too! icon_biggrin.gif

veejaytx Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
veejaytx Posted 17 May 2008 , 7:19pm
post #3 of 10

I use a crusting BCI, so I let the crumb coat slightly crust before smoothing, and then add the top layer of icing.

Even with non-crusting icing, it should "set up" a little before adding another layer, if it hasn't set, it will be likely to pull up from the cake when you are working with the new layer.

Remember that your crumb coat should be fairly thin and smoothed out before adding to it. HTH

Cakebelle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakebelle Posted 17 May 2008 , 7:42pm
post #4 of 10

Hi there!
I mostly use IMBC or SMBC to ice all my cakes, so I just fill the cake/s and crumb coat with a thin layer of the buttercream, and let it chill for at least an hour in the refrigerator. That way it's hard enough for the final coat of buttercream to go on.

HTH

chassidyg Posted 17 May 2008 , 8:42pm
post #5 of 10

What is IMBC or SMBC? I mainly for now use the wilton bc recipe, since i'm fairly new to cake decorating. Thanks for the help! I really appreciate it, I have a baby shower cake due tommorrow, and it has to be perfect!

Mike1394 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mike1394 Posted 17 May 2008 , 8:52pm
post #6 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chassidyg