Why Gumpaste?????

Decorating By punkiin Updated 14 May 2008 , 5:32pm by tracycakes

punkiin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
punkiin Posted 13 May 2008 , 4:15pm
post #1 of 13

Okay! I asked someone a few days ago if Gumpaste was edible...and they said it is, but it dries rock hard and it would probably break a tooth. So my question is why do you use Gumpaste for decorations if it's not edible. I'm still new at this and my goal is to keep all the plastic off the cakes and make it all edible. Please share with me your experience with Gumpaste.

Cindy

12 replies
CakeDiva73 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeDiva73 Posted 13 May 2008 , 4:20pm
post #2 of 13

Gumpaste is edible - that doesn't mean it tastes good, however. You can't make those gorgeous flowers and soften edges of petals and so many other things without using either gumpaste or fondant. So it satisfies the desire to use only 'edibles' on a cake (which I agree with).

Dragees were always on cakes and I think, at least they used to be technically edible but I always wondered what would happen to my teeth if I bit into them? icon_smile.gif If you want to stick with only good-tasting edibles, try using modeling chocolate for flowers and accents instead.

all4cake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
all4cake Posted 13 May 2008 , 4:34pm
post #3 of 13

I, me, myself, am not able to get the petals as thin with fondant as I am with gumpaste. I am able to get them thin with modeling chocolate but not as thin as with gumpaste. When I get as thin with straight fondant as I do with gumpaste, I wind up with limpy petals...and the humidity has a quicker effect on fondant than on gumpaste especially when trying to get it super thin.

I look at gumpaste like Necco wafers....incredibly hard almost tasteless ...but I still eat them.

sweetflowers Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetflowers Posted 13 May 2008 , 4:38pm
post #4 of 13