Newbie To Cakecentral And Cake Decorating In Need Of Ideas

Decorating By kietabear Updated 13 May 2008 , 11:36pm by kietabear

kietabear Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kietabear Posted 13 May 2008 , 11:46am
post #1 of 6

Greetings all,
I am very new to your wonderful site and new to cake decorating. I just completed class two of Wilton 1.

Since I am doing a lot of practicing I have been asked to bake two cakes. 1 for a promotion and 1 for a retirement.

I am AD Air Force so you can imagine these are AF type cakes. I need to be able to place the insignia on both cakes but want something that is edible. Can you please give me suggestions?

Also, the one for promotion, he wants it to be a chocolate cake with cherry filling? I am searching for a recipe or some ideas. Thank you.

5 replies
Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 13 May 2008 , 11:52am
post #2 of 6

Probably the best bet for getting the AF insignia on the cakes is to find a bakery in your area that will print the edible image sheets for you. Then you could just pipe the borders, place the image on the cake, and then add the writing.

Petit-four Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Petit-four Posted 13 May 2008 , 12:37pm
post #3 of 6

If you go over to "recipes" you can type in chocolate cake, and find dozens of recipes.

For cherry filling -- Polaner makes a delicious cherry jam -- you can use that for the filling. Or any good-quality cherry preserve.

Hope this helps! icon_smile.gif

cupcakemkr Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cupcakemkr Posted 13 May 2008 , 8:41pm
post #4 of 6

You could try a Frozen Buttercream Transfer:
http://www.cakecentral.com/article12-How-To-Create-a-Frozen-Buttercream-Transfer.html