Gumpaste Flower Question Help!!

Decorating By the cake whole Updated 6 May 2008 , 6:44pm by Sugar_Plum_Fairy

the cake whole Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
the cake whole Posted 5 May 2008 , 3:38pm
post #1 of 13

icon_biggrin.gif

I am new at this cake decorating/design thing and have spent my weekend playing with gumpaste and am very happy with the results. I was wondering what product to use to glue the gumpaste or fondant together. I purchased wilton "glucose" and it seems to be working. Any ideas for a beginner????

12 replies
CakeDiva73 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeDiva73 Posted 5 May 2008 , 3:43pm
post #2 of 13

I take one of those really small Tupperware containers and put about a teaspoon of merringue powder and enough water to make a syrup. This is the glue I use. Just pop the lid on and give it a shake. Then I can make it fresh in small batches and it doesn't cost a fortune.

Did you post pics of your flowers? I have been a bit obsessed with gumpaste lately too and it is a lot of fun! Especially dusting them with colors and stuff icon_wink.gif

CelebrationCakery Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CelebrationCakery Posted 5 May 2008 , 3:50pm
post #3 of 13

At a class I took last year they had use take a little bit of water in a small tupperware and add a little bit of gumpaste, let it dissolve into the water and use that as a glue...(I think it is in the wilton books)

Ah-na Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ah-na Posted 5 May 2008 , 3:54pm
post #4 of 13

I just use icing to glue it on!

mrsbink Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mrsbink Posted 5 May 2008 , 3:57pm
post #5 of 13

I've always used the gumpaste dissolved in water and it works great!

fytar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
fytar Posted 5 May 2008 , 3:58pm
post #6 of 13