Florida License Q's

Decorating By deld Updated 22 Apr 2008 , 7:37pm by kwalsh4

deld Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
deld Posted 22 Apr 2008 , 1:18am
post #1 of 12

Hello floridians,
I seem to be getting more and more orders, Im pretty new to decorating but for some reason people seem to like my cakes which of course makes me very happy! I havent advertised or anything, its just a friend of a friend of a friend....

My questions are:
1- how far can you go without a license, what can you do and cant do as far as advertising, etc?
2- how do I go about getting my license here in FL, where do I get it, etc.

TIA for your advice, everyone here at cc is so very helpful all the time!!
D

11 replies
grace4boys Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
grace4boys Posted 22 Apr 2008 , 1:29am
post #2 of 12

Good question. I live in FL also and have the same questions/dilemma. Hope things work in your favor.

lovetofrost Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lovetofrost Posted 22 Apr 2008 , 1:34am
post #3 of 12

I'm sorry I don't live in Florida anymore so I'm not sure the regulations. I know in Georgia, to get started I just called my secretary of state corporations division and they gave me the phone number from there to get started. I was told by my health inspector that once I was licensed I could advertise as much and wherever I wanted, like car magnets, business cards, etc. I hope this helps even though I'm not in your state.

cocorum21 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cocorum21 Posted 22 Apr 2008 , 1:36am
post #4 of 12

You aren't supposed to advertise although I know a few people that do. I guess it depends on if you want to take the risk or not.

Here's where to start. http://www.doacs.state.fl.us/onestop/fs/foodsafe.html

Do you want to open your own shop or build a commercial kitchen on your own property? or have you thought about renting a kitchen from another business?