Going From Bday Cakes To Wedding Cakes

Business By Trixyinaz Updated 8 Apr 2008 , 1:52pm by fabfour

Trixyinaz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Trixyinaz Posted 7 Apr 2008 , 4:59pm
post #1 of 21

When did you know you were ready to start doing wedding cakes? I'm still new to decorating and the thought of doing wedding cakes scares me to death....although this is my ultimate goal. When did you know you were ready and felt confident enough to compete with the big guys? Did you give yourself xxx number of months decorating? Did you just take the plunge and do it adn get better and better as you went along? Do you freak out that something will go wrong and you'll have ruined the brides "day?"

Like I said, I'm still new, but I'm afraid I'll never get that level of confidence it takes to move on. I'm a perfectionist and hate failure so I'd rather quit sometimes before the confidence sets in as to avoid any failure. KWIM?

20 replies
yummymummy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yummymummy Posted 7 Apr 2008 , 5:05pm
post #2 of 21

I'm sort of jump right in kind of girl and worry about if I can do it later. icon_rolleyes.gif I know...not really that smart! But, I have a fair amount of confidence in my abilities and only do designs that I feel are achievable right now. I haven't done a wedding cake yet, but I'll be doing a 50th anniverssary cake next month and it's pretty much like a wedding cake. icon_smile.gif

PaulaT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PaulaT Posted 7 Apr 2008 , 5:10pm
post #3 of 21

Hi Fellow Michigander!!!