Help What Are Best Brands For Cake Shop Business Equipment.

Business By Mommaskip Updated 10 Apr 2008 , 3:47pm by DesignerCakes

Mommaskip Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mommaskip Posted 6 Apr 2008 , 5:08pm
post #1 of 10

im very new to this and i was doing some research online about cake shops and starting a business. what are the best brands for equipment and what equipment should one have in their cake shop. thanks so much. also if you have any pictures to share of your cake business i would love to see layouts as well. thanks again.

9 replies
littlecake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
littlecake Posted 6 Apr 2008 , 7:13pm
post #2 of 10

Hobart is the gold standard for mixers.

I have a Southbend oven, and love it, but there are alot of different brands, i been reading a lot of people here have been buying deluxe ovens.

good luck

golfgirl1227 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
golfgirl1227 Posted 6 Apr 2008 , 7:41pm
post #3 of 10

I agree with littlecake on the Hobart mixer. I have a Blodgett oven, but am very intrigued by the Deluxe. My refrigerator and freezer are McCall- I'm probably not the world's foremost authority on commercial refrigeration however- but the price was right on these and they work, lol.

I also have a 7 qt. Viking mixer. And that's pretty much all of the major equipment I have (other than my vent hood and sink), as far as the kitchen goes.

DesignerCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DesignerCakes Posted 8 Apr 2008 , 12:59pm
post #4 of 10

I have a Univex 20 qt mixer (bought it based on the recommendation from a fellow baker) and I just purchased a Deluxe oven which I now have a love affair with! The Univex mixer cost me $2100 and what I love about it is that you can also use it with an optional 10 qt bowl for smaller batches.

The Deluxe oven has heating elements above and below each rack for optimum results. I got the one with the 7 1.2" crowns since I bake in 3" high pans. It heats up in no time flat. I just love it.