Help With Mmfondant

Decorating By christinarh Updated 24 Mar 2008 , 11:34am by christinarh

christinarh Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
christinarh Posted 22 Mar 2008 , 5:41pm
post #1 of 10

Hi, I'm Christina and I'm pretty new here! I'm 18, soon 19 and from Norway. I'm pretty new at cake decorating too, and I have a question.

Yesterday I was going to make some MMFondant to test it and just try to make it. I found a recipe online (http://whatscookingamerica.net/PegW/Fondant.html ) and was going to try that one. But I had some Marshmallow fluff lying around from making candy gifts for my family this christmas, so I thought, why not try that one, seeing as it basically is liqiud marshmallows^^
So I did and it all went great, I started with icing sugar and added the Fluff and knead knead knead, the end result looked just like the pics of fondant and I colored it and stuff and everything was great:p

So I stuff it in the fridge in airtight ziplock bag and lotsa plastic wrap and go to sleep.

So today I thought I was gonna try make some stuff, and I take it out and they're harder but not stonehard, I knead the fondant a bit and whoop, it's all mushy and sticky again. I tried making a chicken after I found Lorraine's (Aine2 on youtube, and I know she's a member here too) video, but the poor thing just ended up a tiny lump looking very miserable..

Now my question is, did I do something wrong or does Fluff just not work for this kind of thing? I tried adding more sugar but it just cracked and wasn't smooth anymore so I don't think I can add more sugar.. Also, do any of you know if Crisco sells to Norway?

If it doesn't work I still have left to try the recipe, so any tips will be appreciated!! Oh and I hope this is in the right forum area... ^^
LL

9 replies
smab109 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
smab109 Posted 22 Mar 2008 , 6:03pm
post #2 of 10