How Much Should I Charge

Decorating By bashini Updated 25 Mar 2008 , 10:06am by bashini

bashini Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bashini Posted 18 Mar 2008 , 2:38pm
post #1 of 29

Hi my freinds, just now I got an enquiry about the blue cake that I have attatched . She wants 100-110 servings Vanilla cake. But I have few questions,

1 - What are the sizes of these cakes?

2 - How much should I charge ( in pounds 'cause I live in UK )

3 - what do you call this particular blue colour and how can I make it?

4 - How can I do the scroll work on the blue cake in gold, which I haven't done before

Please help! This is my first enquiry for a wedding cake.

Thanks in advance.
LL

28 replies
bashini Posted 18 Mar 2008 , 5:52pm
post #2 of 29

Anyone Please!

mmgiles Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mmgiles Posted 18 Mar 2008 , 6:18pm
post #3 of 29

I'm no expert but I'll offer what I can. I'm not sure what the sizes in the picture are but 14, 12, 10 and 8 would give you 116 according to http://forum.cakecentral.com/modules/Forums/files/cake_serving_guide_219.pdf and i use party size servings.

i think you could use a shade of aqua http://www.countrykitchensa.com/catalog/product.aspx?T=1&ShopId=38&CatId=535&SubCatId=1053&productId=618237 for the color. It looks like maybe it's sprayed with a silver luster spray too though.

I'm not sure what to tell you about the gold piping though. i know you can pipe and then color over it with luster dust and a paint brush, but i'm not so sure. Maybe someone else can help more.

bashini Posted 18 Mar 2008 , 6:30pm
post #4 of 29

Thank you so much for the information. It really helps. Will I be able put the scroll imprint first on the cake and then pipe over it? I'm not so sure I can do free handed.

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 18 Mar 2008 , 6:32pm
post #5 of 29