How Do I Make Pretty Butterflies For An Adult Cake?

Decorating By Lilla Updated 24 Oct 2007 , 6:56am by Lilla

Lilla Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lilla Posted 23 Oct 2007 , 9:18am
post #1 of 14

Hi all, I've recently been asked to me a cake for a 21st birthday, decorated with red butterflies. How would I go about making something like this? I would like the wings at an angle. Its for a double tier, fondant covered fruit cake.

Your input will be appreciated.

Thanks

13 replies
melissac823 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
melissac823 Posted 23 Oct 2007 , 9:29am
post #2 of 14

I just finished Course II, so I'm probably not much help. Are you using royal icing, color flow, or gumpaste?

cakeatopia Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeatopia Posted 23 Oct 2007 , 9:31am
post #3 of 14

I am not a pro and it is kinda early(can't sleep--dad passed away yesterday so came here to veg!), but I saw a Martha Stewart program that they did beautiful butterflies made with rice(wafer) paper. They used piping gel and food markers(?). Maybe go to her site and do a search. They were gorgeous and looked pretty simple.

TandTHarrell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TandTHarrell Posted 23 Oct 2007 , 9:54am
post #4 of 14

look in the forms and their an how to.. when i did my butterflies, I used wafer paper

Lilla Posted 23 Oct 2007 , 10:02am
post #5 of 14

I was actually thinking about doing them in royal icing and then using the flooding technique on the wings, but I'll geuss they would break quite easily then......would really like to make them from paste, not to found of the rice paper or wafer ideas....

kimkait Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kimkait Posted 23 Oct 2007 , 10:07am
post #6 of 14

I used my butterfly cookie cutter and cut them out of fondant. I raised the wings where I wanted them and put rolled up paper towels under them. They dried overnight then I airbrushed.
http://www.cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=1142903