Some Pricing Advice Needed Please....

Business By NolansMom Updated 23 Oct 2007 , 2:48am by SweetResults

NolansMom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NolansMom Posted 23 Oct 2007 , 1:49am
post #1 of 8

I am just wondering what some of you all would charge for a cake like this. I am thinking a 14" 10" and 6" (I'm open to suggestions for sizes). It needs to feed 100 or slightly less.
Just plain old chocolate, vanilla, with buttercream and Fondant covered. The sea shells will be gumpaste or chocolate (any thoughts on which is better??) and they will be hand painted with luster dust.

My idea is about 2-2.50 per serving. I am just starting out, and I don't want to scare away any business. Or maybe thats even too high?? I have no clue.... can you help me out a bit here??

Thanks everyone.
LL

7 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 23 Oct 2007 , 2:04am
post #2 of 8

I charge $3/serving for BC only. That went up from $2.50/serving on 9-1-07 due to the price of EVERYTHING going up 20% or more.

hope22023 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hope22023 Posted 23 Oct 2007 , 2:10am
post #3 of 8

I agree with indydebi. Fondant (homemade or purchased) is costly and takes some time if you arent familiar with it. I would add at least $1 to your base price for fondant (the price per serving of course depends on where you live... for me that would be $3.50/ser. minimum). As far as the seashells go, I would lean towards chocolate. That way the quests can eat them instead of them being thrown away (which is what will more than likely happen with gumpaste). I used chocolate for the shells on my beach wedding cake- white chocolate that was colored with luster dusts after they were dry. HTH!

delisa01 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
delisa01 Posted 23 Oct 2007 , 2:11am
post #4 of 8

Although I'm just starting out, I would say don't cut yourself short, that will be one beautiful cake.