Was This Cookie Pricing Out Of Line?

Baking By MomLittr Updated 9 Mar 2007 , 1:17pm by RisqueBusiness

Candy120 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Candy120 Posted 15 Feb 2007 , 4:28pm
post #31 of 47

I have been doing this for 20 years and there are times that I get tired of it, but I just take a couple of days off and do nothing but work on my scrapbooking projects, then I am ready to get back in the saddle.

I am sure that I am way too low on my wedding cakes too...I charge $1.25 a serving. The cake that I have in my photos labeled Wedding Cake, on the last row...I got $187 for it. Is that too cheap too? The bride's mother's jaw dropped on the floor when I told her that...And I had to dig for change from $190, she didn't even let me have the $3 as a tip!! icon_eek.gif

tiptop57 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tiptop57 Posted 15 Feb 2007 , 5:02pm
post #32 of 47

candy
First off that cake is absolute top drawer and bride's mother wouldn't let you keep $3 bucks icon_surprised.gif. If I had done that cake it would have been $240 ($2.50 pp) before delivery/set-up and without flowers.

How big is your town? What is the market like? What do others charge around you? When was the last time you raised your prices? (I paid that price for a similar cake 15 years ago when I got married.) Might be time for a raise. icon_wink.gif If you don't raise your prices you may as well round off your numbers then you won't get upset if you have to make change. thumbs_up.gif

RisqueBusiness Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
RisqueBusiness Posted 15 Feb 2007 , 5:15pm
post #33 of 47

Antonia, the cookie maven of CC suggested to charge 1.00 an inch per decorated cookie and that seemed a good way to price those designer cookies.

That's what I've been asking and that makes it worth my while to make cookies!

SweetieD Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SweetieD Posted 16 Feb 2007 , 3:12pm
post #34 of 47