I'm So Upset....long

Decorating By tkdnvymom Updated 13 Oct 2007 , 4:23am by erinalicia

tkdnvymom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tkdnvymom Posted 11 Oct 2007 , 12:28am
post #1 of 19

Hi fellow CC'ers
I am so upset today. I'm sorry for long story.
I have 3 cake orders to do for this Sat. It is the Navy Birthday and the woman I know from our local American Legion asked me if I would make a cake for the Naval Birthday; I said no problem. I decided to do 3 small cakes because I couldn't decide on one cake. I started practicing one cake and it took me 3 tries. I finally got it to the way I wanted. It's a 10 inch square cake cut diagonally to form a triangle. It looks like a folded flag in a wooden display case. I sent the practice cake to my oldest sons NJROTC class @ school (last thing I need is cake). Well, the Cmdr of the program just loved the cake and he wanted to order one for today, they were having there Naval Birthday award ceremony today and there was an invited guest speaker that is active navy and was leaving state. I started working on it since Monday, baking, coloring icing,etc... I finished it late Tuesday evening. I was going to deliver it myself, but my son said it needed to be at school by 9am. Well, I have a disabled son and his bus arrives anywhere from 8:30-9a. I didn't want it to be late, so I sent it with my son early this morning and I would go the award ceremony after my youngest son left. I got to the school a little after 9a and I saw my cake sitting on a table outside and was glad it made it to school in one piece with a bunch of teenagers. The ceremony went along fine until it was time for the guest speaker. He made his speech and it was time for them to award him with my personalize custom cake. I saw my son and his fellow cadet get up and go get the cake to present him with it and my son came back with no cake and whispered something to the Cmdr and that was the end of the ceremony with please join us with refreshments and dessert ou