Easy Marshmellow Fondant In Recipe Section

Decorating By debdiva Updated 3 Feb 2007 , 3:32am by NewbeeBaker

debdiva Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
debdiva Posted 14 Dec 2006 , 7:03am
post #1 of 12

Hi fellow cake artists~

I have never worked with fondant before, and want to try it out. i had a cake recently with fondant and didn't much care for the taste. i noticed there is a recipe for easy mmf in the recipe section of this site.
Has anyone tried it out, and is there any tips you could impart on this humble cake maker?

Thanks oodles. . .

Debbie

11 replies
JoAnnB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JoAnnB Posted 14 Dec 2006 , 7:10am
post #2 of 12

There are two variations of MMF, one made with marshmallow creme the other with melted marshmallows. Basically, the same.

When making MMF, do not add all the powdered sugar the recipe calls for. Initially, add about 1/2 to 3/4. Once you add the sugar, it will come together (mostly) in a sticky mass. Put some of the reserved sugar on a work surface and knead it until it is mostly together. Then clear the work surface and spread a bit of shortening on the surface, then knead the fondant until it is smooth and not sticky- you may need to sift on a bit more sugar, if the dough is still sticky.

If you use melted MM- beware, they are HOT.

superstar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
superstar Posted 15 Dec 2006 , 1:02am
post #3 of 12

I get to a point when I use corn starch for kneading, it is less sticky.
June

conb Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
conb Posted 15 Dec 2006 , 1:10am
post #4 of 12

I also put shortening on my hands. My experience (which has only been once) has been to not allow the mmf to rest overnight it was more difficult to work with.

nglez09 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nglez09 Posted 15 Dec 2006 , 1:20am
post #5 of 12