Price Per Serving. Help!!

Decorating By erinmedina Updated 1 Feb 2011 , 3:35pm by Kristie925

erinmedina Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
erinmedina Posted 24 Sep 2007 , 2:41pm
post #1 of 13

I am getting alot of people wanting to order cakes. Ihave done a handful of wedding cakes and just kind of made up prices. What is the average price per serving that you charge? how much extra do you charge for fondant? I am new at the per slice thing and am curious what to do. If any one can help i would appreciate it. if anyone knows a a site to find a list of average prices that would be great!!! Help PLease.

12 replies
LaSombra Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LaSombra Posted 24 Sep 2007 , 3:56pm
post #2 of 13

I have been charging $2/slice for BC and $2.25 for fondant but I plan to up the price at the end of the year. I'm not sure what to up it to though. I was thinking to raise it to $2.25 and $2.75 but was thinking maybe I should just go with $2.50 for all since I prefer working with fondant.

I do live in a rural area with not alot of money so I can't have really high prices yet.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 24 Sep 2007 , 4:24pm
post #3 of 13

Lots of variables in that question. The area of the country is one. KoryAK can charge a much higher price than I can, but she's in ALaska and her cost for ingredients and supplies is much higher than mine.

I just upped mine to $3/serving for BC. I don't do fondant but if I did, it would be higher than that.

I just caution you to not fall into the trap of pre-determining what people will pay. I had a friend whose mouth dropped open when I told her hubby and I paid $150 for dinner for two one night. while she may be a person who "would never pay that", I am a person who will. So it's a good thing for that restaurant that they didn't listen to only people like her, or hubby and I would have missed out on a great dinner!