I Want To Do More!!!

Decorating By princessdepastel Updated 20 Sep 2007 , 11:04pm by nicolevoorhout

princessdepastel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
princessdepastel Posted 20 Sep 2007 , 10:12pm
post #1 of 13

ok im going through a majorly messy divorce and cake decorating has become my own version of coke or or something. lol. im like a decorating junkie. the only problem is, i want to do more cakes. since im relatively new at this, no one really trusts me to do their cakes yet. but i know if someone gave me a challenge, i can do it. ive been an artist for 10 years and i can do anything i set my mind to. how can i get practice (as well as a nice little portfolio) going without spending a ton of money on fondant and having tons of leftover cake? how did yall get going when yall first started out? princess.gif

12 replies
thecupcakemom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
thecupcakemom Posted 20 Sep 2007 , 10:19pm
post #2 of 13

Make cakes, take pix for a portfolio and donate, donate, donate your baked goods. It is a great way to get your name out there. Caketherapy has helped many of us, but like any drug habit, you will have to spend the money in order to get your fix. icon_lol.gif

kidsnurse Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kidsnurse Posted 20 Sep 2007 , 10:23pm
post #3 of 13

I second the donating vote, try nursing homes, firestations, etc. I also saw that someone hooked up with VolunteerMatch as a cake decorator.

GrannieJ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GrannieJ Posted 20 Sep 2007 , 10:23pm
post #4 of 13

Maybe you could decorate cake dummies, take photos, clean them off, decorate again for more photos? Just a thought. When I started, I had family who would humor me and eat my cakes. They loved it and were very sad when I decided I had enough experince. They now get in line and order cake from me 8- )

Carson Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Carson Posted 20 Sep 2007 , 10:24pm
post #5 of 13