Am I Shooting Myself In The Foot??

Decorating By andiesweet Updated 15 Nov 2006 , 5:02am by bush1

andiesweet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
andiesweet Posted 14 Nov 2006 , 3:24am
post #1 of 12

Ok, My boss has asked me to do the cake for her daughters bridal shower. I have done cakes for the birthdays in the office and have also sold a few cakes to some of the girls too. My boss always tells me i should charge more then I do. I don't charge alot because I am still kinda new to all this and think of it as paid practice at this point. Anyway... we were talking today and she asked me if I wanted to give her a price for the cake, or if I trust her to pay me a fair price for my work. I told her that I trust her. She wants a wedding dress cake ( ala wilton yearbook 2007) and a 10" round with chocolate roses. I told my hubby about our conversation and he thinks i should have just told her a price I thought was fair ( he says $75-80) and not let her decide. I was sure I was doing the right thing when I was talking to her, now after speaking to him I not sure. She is my boss, and has always been pretty generous with me. Has anyone ever had a situation like this?

11 replies
patticakesnc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
patticakesnc Posted 14 Nov 2006 , 3:31am
post #2 of 12

If she has encouraged you to charge more you may be happlily suprised at what she will pay. I think you will be fine.

CakeRN Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeRN Posted 14 Nov 2006 , 3:31am
post #3 of 12

Well since you say you think of it as "paid practice" and your boss is always telling you to charge more.....I would say Trust her on this one. You know she is not going to stiff you and it may not be the 75-80 dollars your hubby says....but then again...you never know.

adven68 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
adven68 Posted 14 Nov 2006 , 3:37am
post #4 of 12