Anyone Interested In A Chocolate Transfer Tutorial?

Decorating By MikeRowesHunny Updated 2 Jul 2008 , 6:10pm by dandelion56602

Danielle1218 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Danielle1218 Posted 30 Jun 2008 , 2:02am
post #91 of 101

OK....I am new to this whole chocolate transfer thing, so I am a little confused. Someone correct me if I am wrong. Is chocolate transfer done by using the candy melts you would use to make homemade candy? I assume this is sort of like frozen buttercream transfer, except that you are using candy melts?? Have I got the right idea?? I have never done a FBCT either. WHen I need to do a transfer, I tape the picture to my kitchen window, tape a piece of parchment paper over that, trace with a piping bag with lightly tinted piping gel. Then I lay the parchment paper on my frosted cake and fill in with colored buttercream.

What is the easiest way to do this?? I am starting to think my way is old-school (like what you learn in Wilton Course 1 with the rainbow cake).

maimai16 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
maimai16 Posted 30 Jun 2008 , 4:17am
post #92 of 101

yes, please...

dandelion56602 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dandelion56602 Posted 1 Jul 2008 , 4:32am
post #93 of 101

Danielle1218, yes it's the same technique as FBCT, RI or color flow. Unfortunately, a LOT of info was lost in the crash.

For your cake transfers, something that I prefer to do is print it off, place on some foam & poke w/ a toothpick or one of my sculpting tools then lay it on the cake & gently rub it. You get an outline w/ out having to use gel. I hate that method.