If Cake Is A Tad Bit Dry...do You Bake Less Or Do You Add

Decorating By aprilcake Updated 12 Sep 2007 , 7:55pm by MariaLovesCakes

aprilcake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aprilcake Posted 12 Sep 2007 , 5:44pm
post #1 of 9

Hi! I made my first scratch cake the other day and it was very good taste but a little bit on the dry side, not by much though...my question since I am new to this is why is it like that, did I bake it to long or should I add more something to it to add moisture? Please help! Thanks!

April :0)

8 replies
jennifer7777 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jennifer7777 Posted 12 Sep 2007 , 5:50pm
post #2 of 9

It could be that the cake was baked too long, or at too high of a temperature. What I do to try to avoid dryness is bake all my cakes at 325. If your recipe called for milk, maybe you could add a little more? I find that adding 1/2 to 1 cup of sour cream can give a cake extra richness and moisture.

GeminiRJ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GeminiRJ Posted 12 Sep 2007 , 5:51pm
post #3 of 9

I would think a shorter baking time might work. Overbaking is the main culprit, I think, in a cake that is too dry!

tyty Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tyty Posted 12 Sep 2007 , 5:55pm
post #4 of 9

I bake from scratch and the only cake I find dry is yellow cake. I tried everything and the cake would still get dry after a while. I started adding a heaping TBS of sour cream, this seemed to help quite a bit.

emmascakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
emmascakes Posted 12 Sep 2007 , 6:01pm
post #5 of 9

You might want to add something that retains moisture - any cake with carrot / courgette / fruit in will generally be moist. Or bake it for a little less time - overbaked cakes will be dry. To remedy it you can pour a simple sugar syrup on the sponge - flavour with lemon / vanilla or whatever.

keriskreations Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
keriskreations Posted 12 Sep 2007 , 6:02pm
post #6 of 9