Advice On Convincing Family To Give Me A Chance!

Business By ANicole Updated 2 Sep 2007 , 9:45pm by Erdica

ANicole Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ANicole Posted 1 Sep 2007 , 3:30am
post #1 of 22

So I'm very new to decorating, but honestly I improve so much with each cake. One look at my photo gallery will show you that I need MAJOR more improvement. But here's the thing... I'm obsessed with baking (since a kid) and I hate my job (legal secretary) and I want to bake and be happy! I just found out a few days ago that my uncle's girlfriend and her mom bought a restaurant. I feel like this is my chance to bake for money. Question is: How do I go about approaching them on the idea?

Here is what I was thinking, and tell me if you have other ideas or if this sounds dumb..

First, I was going to go to the restaurant and grab a copy of their menu. During this trip, I was going to give them a peanut butter filled chocolate torte as a "Good Luck on the new business" gift.

I was going to peruse their menu and come up with desserts that would compliment it. (It's just a hamburger place - but I think they do dinner specials! icon_biggrin.gif )

Then I was going to do a sample tray and take it over there and broach the subject.

But also I'm wondering how I'll get paid? I have 2 little kids (2 y.o. and 5 mos) and I'd love to work nights after my hubby gets home and bake at night or maybe early mornings at the restaurant. But do I get paid per dessert?

The lady at my local cake decorating store suggested just donating a few cakes, cheesecake and maybe another kind, and seeing if they sell and kind of going from there.

I'm so excited about this "possibility" of a new future - but I'm trying not to get too excited in case they tell me no.