May Be Dumb Question But...

Decorating By mom2ty Updated 31 Aug 2007 , 4:27pm by mom2ty

mom2ty Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mom2ty Posted 31 Aug 2007 , 2:00pm
post #1 of 11

does anyone here use silk flowers? I'm not good at making flowers and need to do a bridal shower cake. I was thinking of adding roses in the brides colors and wondered if I could use silk. If anyone has used them before, how did they hold up? I will be using all bc icing for the cake. TIA

10 replies
Parable Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Parable Posted 31 Aug 2007 , 2:03pm
post #2 of 11

I haven't but a lot of others have.

llynnowens Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
llynnowens Posted 31 Aug 2007 , 2:12pm
post #3 of 11

You could go with real flowers in colors that match the bride's theme? There is a list of non-toxic flowers here on CC (in the Articles section). Keep them refrigerated until time to set up the cake at the reception place. Some flowers are even perfectly edible (get your cake and salad too!).

mom2ty Posted 31 Aug 2007 , 2:19pm
post #4 of 11

Thanks everyone! I'm not getting paid for this one and as much as I don't want to be cheap, I don't want to put a fortune into this for someone I don't really know. I also want it to look nice as a lot of people will be seeing it. I'm going to have to do some pricing. Thanks!

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 31 Aug 2007 , 3:40pm
post #5 of 11

I require my brides to provide any florals....silk or real.... and they provide silk just as often as they provide real.

kerri729 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kerri729 Posted 31 Aug 2007 , 3:52pm
post #6 of 11

I use silk on mine, and they work fine......just buy good quality ones from Michaels, Joann's, or somewhere that has a good selection.

angief Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
angief Posted 31 Aug 2007 , 3:57pm
post #7 of 11