Which Fondant Works/looks/tastes Best?

Decorating By mears202 Updated 23 Mar 2007 , 10:13pm by Lady_bug768

mears202 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mears202 Posted 23 Oct 2006 , 3:40pm
post #1 of 33

Hi Im new at cake decorating but am having soooo much fun with it! I have experiemented with the store bought wilton fondant and have also made the marshmallow creme fondant. I like the way the store bought fondant looked but it seemed to taste funny and rubbery? I love the way I could flavor the marshmallow fondant, but it wast kind of shiny and a little more melted look. Does anyone have any suggesstions or recipes?

32 replies
missyek Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
missyek Posted 23 Oct 2006 , 3:51pm
post #2 of 33

I really think the Wilton fondant is the best to work with--it has a great texture and consistency. Unfortunately, it does lack in the tasting good department so I reserve it only for making non-edible things. MMF is good, but the texture of it bothers me--not quite sure what it is. Maybe it is too dry for me. I like Satin Ice--that is at the top of my list. It tastes good and very easy to work with. The only problem I find with it is that it is a little too much on the soft side. But I deal with that.

karateka Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
karateka Posted 24 Oct 2006 , 1:24am
post #3 of 33

I love satinice fondant. I've used MMF and I agree, it's kinda shiny. But it tastes ok. I've heard great things about fondx and chocopan, but haven't tried them yet.

mnmmommy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mnmmommy Posted 24 Oct 2006 , 1:26am
post #4 of 33

I like the taste of Satinice however Wilton is easier to work with. I haven't tried any other ones yet.

luvbakin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
luvbakin Posted 24 Oct 2006 , 1:48am
post #5 of 33

I've made Toba Garrett's recipe and found it didn't stretch very well, but tasted good. Wilton is good for making bows as it dries better than MMF, which is better tasting.