What Training Did You Go Through...

Business By snowshoe1 Updated 26 Aug 2007 , 8:19pm by chefmom

snowshoe1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
snowshoe1 Posted 23 Aug 2007 , 8:39pm
post #1 of 16

Hello to all you professionals out there. I'm wondering what type of training did you go through. I'm a 40ish Wall Street professional and completely burned out in the world of finance - so I'm doing what most of us do and looking at a career change. I love making pastries, chocolates, etc... and started cake decorating last March.

I am looking into a few schools in the NYC area (ICE Culinary and French Institute) and was wondering if any of you have gotten degrees / certificates in Pastry/Baking arts and if so, was it the way to go? Are most of you self-taught and if so, how would you get hired by an elite restaurant or pastry shop? Any input / thoughts you can give will be most appreciated.

Cheers.

15 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 23 Aug 2007 , 10:53pm
post #2 of 16

I'm a self taught decorator and I describe my catering side as "I'm a mom who likes to cook". People raved over my cookies for years before I thought they could actually be a business.

That said, I believe any kind of add'l training and learning is never a waste of time.

SMRturtle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SMRturtle Posted 23 Aug 2007 , 11:26pm
post #3 of 16

I have no 'formal' training myself- I'm fairly new to decorating. I have been looking at the ICE instute myself and considering taking both the cake decorating classes as well as the cake baking class. If you're considering taking this I would love to know because I would love to know someone in the class!
I'm considering going on the week of 9/24- if there are still any openings.
PM me - I used to work in the world financial center and quit last year when I decided to move back out to the eastern end of Long Island, where I grew up.

Marci Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile