Please Tell Me How This Icing Is Put On The Cupcake-Pls.

Decorating By prettycake Updated 13 Oct 2006 , 1:53pm by jocekinns

prettycake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prettycake Posted 12 Oct 2006 , 6:03pm
post #1 of 19

Could someone please tell me how the icing on this cupcake is put on ?
exactly like this ? this is the Magnolia Bakery (NEW YORK) Vanilla cupcake. I am making cupcakes for my son's birthday and I want it to look like these///I know it's not difficult, just want to know how..THANK YOU>> please don't ignore me.... PLEASE
!!! icon_smile.gificon_smile.gificon_smile.gificon_smile.gif
LL

18 replies
LmLBuddy4 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LmLBuddy4 Posted 12 Oct 2006 , 6:09pm
post #2 of 19

It looks like just a large round tip that they swirled around the cupcake. I'm new to the cake industry, so someone else might be able to give you a tip number.

emmascakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
emmascakes Posted 12 Oct 2006 , 6:15pm
post #3 of 19

As far as I know I don't think there is a tip that big. To get this effect I think I'd fill a paper piping bag and cut the end off it and swirl it on.

patticakesnc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
patticakesnc Posted 12 Oct 2006 , 6:17pm
post #4 of 19

It looks like they are dipped in the icing to me. I am not for sure but the bottom part is so perfect and flat that is what I think. Probably dipped and twisted when pulling it back out of the icing to get the swirl on top.

DianaMarieMTV Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DianaMarieMTV Posted 12 Oct 2006 , 6:20pm
post #5 of 19

You might try giving them a call!
I would guess though, that they iced the tops flat and then used a large round tip to put the swirl in the middle.

pattycaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pattycaker Posted 12 Oct 2006 , 6:21pm
post #6 of 19

Sometimes its the things that look super easy, that end up being tricky! Have you tried using a coupler with no tip?

wgoat5 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile