Military Cake Ideas

Decorating By firewife Updated 3 Sep 2007 , 6:42pm by raggedyanne78

firewife Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
firewife Posted 11 Aug 2007 , 1:36am
post #1 of 9

I was asked to do a cake for a neighbor who's husband just made chief. Her husband is a Navy Pilot. I was not sure what to do.I thought about doing a plane that looks like his but I have never done a 3-d cake before. I am really good at cupcake cakes. We will have cupcakes for the kids at this party. Anyone have any ideas?

8 replies
rhesp1212 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rhesp1212 Posted 11 Aug 2007 , 1:39am
post #2 of 9

Take a look in my pics, I did a Navy cake for a dear friend of mine for his birthday. I did the Navy emblem in colorflow and then draped a fondant flag across the top of the cake. He LOVED it!!

If you're only expecting a small group of people, you could make a cake in the shape of a Navy hat.

Valerie

Jesjacster2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jesjacster2 Posted 11 Aug 2007 , 1:49am
post #3 of 9

I love the emblem idea and rhesp1212 that cake you did with them emblem and flag was awesome, You could also do copies of any patches he has on his flight wear too..can't wait to see

melissa043 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
melissa043 Posted 11 Aug 2007 , 1:49am
post #4 of 9

My husband is in the army so i dont have any navy suggestions. But i did just make an airplane cake in my photos for my neighbors sons birthday. I just got the airplane cake mold. Perhaps you can make that airplane and then try and shape it to look like his plane from there...this way you have a starting point to work from.

schildwaster Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
schildwaster Posted 11 Aug 2007 , 2:05am
post #5 of 9