I Need Your Help With Frosting Something Round!!!

Decorating By hmarie_73 Updated 9 Aug 2007 , 3:50am by hellie0h

hmarie_73 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hmarie_73 Posted 8 Aug 2007 , 9:12pm
post #1 of 13

Ok...so I've never done a cake where I have had to frost a ball shaped anything, so I definately need advice on that and maybe the best kind of buttercream to use for that job. I purchased a womans upper torso cake pan so forming round part of the cake will not be a problem, frosting it is going to kill me...

I know the fondant woud give me a smoother look but I have never used fondant before (except as a road for the "Cars" cake in my pics)...I need a fondant recipe that is great for beginners to use and tastes good...If you cover something in fondant do you usually need to color the BC?

Also...could I go with a Ganache? (Sp?) I have never used that before either ....

or a pourable fondant....something i could pour over the cake to make it smooth????

I need the easiest way to get the smoothest look ....

(I would hope there was not reason for me to have to post this in the "naughty" cakes forum...but I did, just in case)

~Heather
TIA

IF any one has ANY advice I need it ASAP...I have to have the cake ready for FRIDAY NIGHT!!!!!

12 replies
dodibug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dodibug Posted 8 Aug 2007 , 9:22pm
post #2 of 13

If you are more comfortable with bc then go with a crusting bc. I add 1-2 tblsp of meringue powder to my bc recipe to get it to crust. Then you let it sit for aobut 20 min, smooth with a viva paper towel, let it sit for another 15 min and then smooth with printer paper (thank you sugarshack for this awesome tip!!!). My most recently posted cakes have been done this way and my icing has never looked better!

Good luck with it!

spongemomsweatpants Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
spongemomsweatpants Posted 8 Aug 2007 , 9:22pm
post #3 of 13