Three Questions

Decorating By deetmar Updated 7 Aug 2007 , 1:35am by deetmar

deetmar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
deetmar Posted 6 Aug 2007 , 9:11pm
post #1 of 7

First, Is it better to do scroll work in BC or RI,

Second, I can't get either to be black. I have started with chocolate and use the AmeriGel, Very black, no go.

Third, I have never done a styrofoam cake. Is there any place I can find out how to do it?

As you can tell, I am very new at this. Any ideas?

6 replies
twooten173 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
twooten173 Posted 6 Aug 2007 , 9:19pm
post #2 of 7

I can only speak to the second question... I buy the black icing in a can or tube (don't get the cake deco, joy or, "something" brand it sucks) because it takes too much work to get it that color. That being said, I only use it as an accents.

dezzib27 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dezzib27 Posted 6 Aug 2007 , 9:24pm
post #3 of 7

Royal Icing breaks down on buttercream so don't do that unless you are attaching it to fondant. Black is a very hard color to get, try letting it stand for a few hours....

CustomCakesBySharon Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CustomCakesBySharon Posted 6 Aug 2007 , 9:26pm
post #4 of 7

#1 - either one - BC will cut nicely when the cake is served, RI will look sharper and will be easy to paint if you're going that route

#2 - using chocolate BC & adding wilton black gel color always works for me.....try using hershey's special dark chocolate cocoa to make the chocolate BC.....i use that to make black fondant and u don't even have to add black color!

#3 - styrofoam is almost the same as doing regular cake.....IMO, cutting it is the hard part.....only done 2 of these tho, so i'm not one to give good advise in this area.....maybe someone else can help u out on this one

happy baking! thumbs_up.gif

Dawncurby Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dawncurby Posted 6 Aug 2007 , 9:27pm
post #5 of 7

Hi,

1. I use b/c for scroll work