Nfsc Failed!

Baking By BarbaraK Updated 11 Oct 2006 , 11:25am by ape

BarbaraK Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BarbaraK Posted 3 Oct 2006 , 4:20am
post #1 of 20

Baked a batch of cookies today but they did not keep their shape. In fact, they spread quite a bit and I had to use cutter to cut the shape in the cooked cookie.
Does anyone know why or why this has happened?

19 replies
ShabbyChic_Confections Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ShabbyChic_Confections Posted 3 Oct 2006 , 4:33am
post #2 of 20

I'm not a cookie expert, but when I made them they where fine, i got many tips here, I think one of the most important is to put your cut cookies back in the freezer before you bake them, that halps a lot!!

Samsgranny Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Samsgranny Posted 3 Oct 2006 , 4:45am
post #3 of 20

I agree with ShabbyChic. Have you seen the instructions Antonia has posted in the articles tab at the top of your screen. Scroll down to the topic she posted, "How to bake and decorate sugar cookies". I follow her instructions exactly and they come out perfectly every time. If after following her instructions you still find the cookies spreading you may need to add a tablespoon or two more of flour as your dough is too soft. Hope this helps thumbs_up.gif

BarbaraK Posted 4 Oct 2006 , 7:11am
post #4 of 20

Thanks for the tips. How thinck should you roll out the cookie dough. I wonder if it was because I rolled it out too thick beacuse my cookies were quite thick.

mthiberge Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mthiberge Posted 4 Oct 2006 , 7:22am
post #5 of 20

I think Antonia roles her cookies out quite thick...so that shouldn't have hurt them...I would try re chilling them before you bake them.

antonia74 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
antonia74 Posted 6 Oct 2006 , 3:58am
post #6 of 20

I roll mine between 1/4" to 1/3" in thickness, depending on how large the cookie cutter is.