Here's How To Not Lose The Pricing War...

Business By indydebi Updated 4 Aug 2007 , 4:24am by megankennedy

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 3 Aug 2007 , 7:12pm
post #1 of 34

We get it all the time. The brides who are on a budget. Had one call just minutes ago. She had called me for info a few days ago and was calling back with a question: she has a tight budget and wants a "display" cake with sheet cakes ... how much cheaper would that be? (By the way, this is a drop-n-run cake).

I said:

"Now that's an example of how the wedding websites are misleading you. You're getting the same amount of cake, no matter what pan I bake it in. Sheet cakes are not that much 'less' work to justify a price decrease. I've been making cakes for 25 years and I'm pretty good and pretty quick. It's not a time saver for me to do sheet cakes. It's just as much cake, icing and time no matter which ones I do.....sheet or tier."

"If you go to a bakery that does mass production and they are churning out hundreds of sheet cakes a day to store in their freezer, then maybe they can do it cheaper. But I don't have cakes stacked up in the freezer. Mine are made to order, customized to your specifications, and they are made days .....not weeks or months ... before your wedding."

I then explained my 60% Rule to her as a possibility to help reduce her headcount and ergo her costs.

After asking for a discount and after hearing my speech ..... she asked to make a sampling appointment.

My assumption is that if the price was really out of her range, she wouldn't bother making the appointment.

BTW, she asked if she could come over TODAY! I said, "No, remember I said I don't have cakes sitting around ... each one is made to order."

So anyway .... just thought I'd share a minor victory in the "I want a bargain basement price for a custom made cake" war! Woooo-Hoooo!

33 replies
BakeNShake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakeNShake Posted 3 Aug 2007 , 7:21pm