I Want To Sell Cookies!! Few Questions Please!!

Baking By cindy6250 Updated 14 Oct 2006 , 2:47am by cindy6250

cindy6250 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cindy6250 Posted 24 Sep 2006 , 6:58pm
post #1 of 15

I love baking cookies and want to start incorporating them into my
sales. I am a home baker and this is very part time, for now. I want to sell some cookie trays and some bagged cookies.

Questions:

How many flavors do you think is a good amount to offer??? I have tons of recipes, but know I need to keep my choices within reason.

How many cookies is a good amount for a tray, or should I offer different size trays? I want to keep it fairly simple for my first go at it. I am also thinking that I would like to maybe even offer cookie bouquets or at least decorated cookies, say in packs of 3.

Also, and I know this has been asked a million times, what do you charge for your cookie trays, with say 4 or 5 dozen asst cookies?

I would really appreciate any and all input.

Thanks,
Cindy

14 replies
cindy6250 Posted 25 Sep 2006 , 12:06pm
post #2 of 15

I will not give up!! Trying to get some answers to my burning questions again today. Thanks for any and all suggestions.

Cindy

cakesbyjackie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesbyjackie Posted 25 Sep 2006 , 12:26pm
post #3 of 15

I can give you my opinions if you'd like, but I haven't ever sold cookies, so keep that in mind.

I would sell 4-6 varieties of cookies, keeping in mind that you want to do them on more of a "production" type basis so don't get involved with anything to intricate. I've found, over the years of giving cookies, that the ones that get "gone" the first are:
Chocolate chip or White chocolate chunk
Peanut butter blossoms
Spritz

A couple of things that I do to dress up the cookies are: