Your Tried And Tested Bc Recipe

Decorating By anku Updated 24 Jul 2007 , 7:11am by LiliS

anku Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
anku Posted 22 Jul 2007 , 10:29pm
post #1 of 14

Hi Guys,
Well I'm pretty new at all this and have been using the crisco Butter cream recipe( given at Wilton classes) all this while. But after the formula change ...I'm finding working with this recipe more and more difficult.

So, I'm calling all the cake gurus of CC to help me with a tried and tested BC recipe that I could work with. Somethig that is yummy but also easy to make and work with in terms of decoration.

Thanks so much in advance.

13 replies
FromScratch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FromScratch Posted 22 Jul 2007 , 10:36pm
post #2 of 14

Are you looking for any buttercream or only a powdered sugar based one? If it's any I use swiss meringue buttercream on almost all of my cakes now and this is the recipe I use.

The Well Dressed Cake
Swiss Meringue Buttercream

24 oz unsalted butter at room temp
10 egg whites
16 oz granulated sugar
2 â 3 TBSP real vanilla extract

Place the egg whites and the sugar in a clean mixer bowl, and place it over a pot of simmering water, whisking occasionally until it registers 160 degrees.

Put it on the stand mixer and whip it with the whisk on medium high until it is reaches the stiff peak stage.

While the meringue is beating, cut up the butter into tbsp sized pieces.

When meringue is ready, switch to the paddle attachment, turn on low, and slowly add the butter.

Add vanilla.

Turn on medium high and let it rip until you have a lovely silky buttercream. You will hear a slapping sound when itâs ready.

But if I have to use a powdered sugar based one I use this one..

2 cups butter , slightly soft but not mushy
1/2 cup hi-ration shortening
1/4 to 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream
2 tbsp vanilla
2 pounds (8 cups) powdered sugar, sifted (measure, then sift)
2 tablespoons meringue powder, optional - add only if you want the buttercream to crust